138 With grateful thanks to the Baker Family HOCKEY We were able to field three extra teams on match days and the boys showed great improvement over the season whilst learning the necessary skills required to play on astroturf. The top teams attended festivals in the holidays and brought home excellent results.The value of these festivals for both boys and coaches is obvious and it allows for analysis within an intensive frame in order to cement. 26 boys were selected for provincial teams and attended tournaments during the July holidays. Nqobili Ntuli was selected for the SA U18 A team that played in a three match testseries against Australia.Two of the matches were hosted at Kearsney. Nqobili was selected as captain of the SA U 18 5s team that par ticipated at the youth olympics in Nanjing.The Hockey Hockey enjoyed a busy and happy year. team placed a credible four th. Lyle Jarvel and Blake Tyack were selected for the SA U16 team. A special mention must be made of the 2nd XI and U 16A teams which both only lost two matches during the season. I would like to thank the coaching staff for their dynamic approach to the spor t, as well as the parents for their enthusiastic suppor t. I would also like to pay a special tribute to Jon Robinson who is standing down after five very successful years as 1st XI coach and would like to wish Sihle Ntuli, who has been appointed in his place, all the best for next season. Lastly, my thanks are extended to the boys for their committed approach to the spor t. Wayne Marsden AWARDS Most improved player of the year: Matthew Last Player’s player of the year: Matthew Last 1980 old boys trophy for outstanding player in the 1st XI: Nqobili Ntuli CAPS SA U 18A: Nqobili Ntuli SA U 16: Lyle Jarvel and Blake Tyack KZN U 18 A: Nqobili Ntuli KZN U 18 B: Jon Robinson (coach), Ruari Baker, Matthew Butler and Matthew Last KZN U 18C: Alex di Marco, Simon Nor tje KZN U 16 A: Sihle Ntuli (assistant coach), Lyle Jarvel, Matthew Lees, Cameron Rencken and Blake Tyack KZN U 16B: Jeremy Foord and BradleyWood KZN U 16C: Cameron Baker, Nicholas de Beer, Kyle Koenig, Keenan Naidoo and Grant Oliver KZN U 14A: Ross Gibbings, Guy Morgan, Fin McLean-Mazotti, Liam Maguire, Kandrin Naidoo and Steven Conway KZN U 14B: Scott Bentley, Calym Lishman and Kyle Sewberan