The boys of Gillingham Back Row (l-r): P Saad D Weaver N Cele P Hudson J Morse H Marais M Smith E Friedman T Dixon J Wilkes N Hoare K Futter K Zagar T Allan-Reynolds G Kruger R Taylor 5th row: J Stromness J Weyer A Quenet T Hunt L Couzens M Nesbit K Cleator S Beere K Xaba G Coolbear B Dicks J Hulett L MacCourt J Schroder J Burgess T Tanner G Brown 4th row: R Clark R Polkinghorne O Mngoma J Redman T Essay C Calliontzis M van Niekerk L Laird D Futter S. Powell P Shaw J van Tonder M Marshall N Hudson T Marsh A Atuhaire K Bennewith M Madikizela M Luvhani 3rd row: M Pretorius N Leathern A Dukes GILLINGHAM Housemaster The year has rushed past and it is time to bid farewell to the class of 2014 and welcome the class of 2015. 23 The house has been for tunate to be led by four men of superb moral fibre and character : Neil Lillelund and his deputies Jeremy Maarschalk, Grant Meyer and Francois van der Merwe have been superb this year and guided the house through some difficult times. It was Gillingham’s 75th anniversary and to commemorate this significant event, a house tie was created and my thanks are extended to Benjamin Patton for spearheading the design and manufacture of the tie. The house became more serious about academics with everyone making a contribution to our improved overall position in the Parks trophy. We also had some success in the AH Smith trophy, winning more events that we have for a while.We continue to struggle with the cultural events but our house play cast, directors and backstage crew as well as the choir must be commended on their effor ts and commitment to excellence. I am often reminded of the saying that it is better to have tried and failed, than never to have tried at all. The house shows its character by never giving up no matter what position we achieve in these events. I look forward to 2015 with a very good group of matrics who will be able to build on the positive momentum created this year.The house will be led by Tristan Dixon and his deputies Sibulelo Mbhele, James Redman, Geoffrey Sibbald and JustinWilkes. We are also very proud of the selection of Rober t Polkinghorne as head of school.The house will suppor t him as he continues the proud tradition Gillingham has of producing head boys of the highest calibre. I would like to thank the class of 2014 for their commitment and enthusiasm and wish them all the best for the future. The house is for tunate to have duty masters of the highest calibre who help to keep it running smoothly. My thanks are extended to Matt Conradie, Gareth Moerdyk and Etienne Grundling (who left us at the end of the third term). Rob Scott has most ably filled his position. Next year Sam Mofokeng will be joining us from St Albans’ in Pretoria. I would also like to express my thanks to my family, who are long-suffering and patient, as I am often in the house dealing with the day to day boarding issues which arise. They make it so much easier to do my job properly. Myles Delport Gillingham has again produced men of sound character who will make a meaningful contribution.