N&V nov 2023_web

So we beat on... Mrs Jane Curtiss: HoD English, reports. The Roaring Twenties were revisited by 64 Grade 11 boys when they attended a themed dance evening at St Mary's on 14 September.To pay homage to F Scott Fitzgerald's novel 'The Great Gatsby', the St Mary's and Kearsney English depar tments facilitated a ballroom get-together for the young ladies and gentlemen. St Mary's generously provided professional ballroom instructors, and the 'guys' and 'dolls' set for th onto the parquet oor of the St Mary's hall to learn a few ballroom steps. The dancing began with some trepidation but soon contributed to a tremendously enjoyable evening. Just as par tners became familiar, the dance instructors rotated par tnerships, creating a relaxed and unpressured atmosphere. Our boys made me proud as they were the perfect gentlemen, ensuring that none of the young ladies felt awkward or were left out of the dancing. Academic News College News 2 3 TERM 4 | NOVEMBER 2023 South African Mathematics Challenge (SAMC) Facilitation and Training at Kearsney The nal round of the Primary Schools’ SAMC, the prestigious Olympiad run by the South African Mathematics Foundation, was written on 07 September at Kearsney College. On that morning, Kearsney hosted a facilitation and training session for the KZN primary school pupils who made the nal round, and their teachers, to help develop their problem-solving skills and effective strategies and techniques.The teachers’ programme also looked at ways to create a culture of critical thinking within their Maths depar tments. Schools that did not have pupils in the nal round were also invited to send Maths teachers and two talented Grade 6 Maths students from their schools to join the training. The evening was rounded off with hot chocolate, provided by the girls, delivered from Dale Sandy's (KCOB 2014) coffee car t. We thank Mrs Sarah Henderson and the English depar tment at St Mary's for a wonderfully fun evening. Kearsney celebrated its Grade 12 academic achievers at a special prizegiving and speech night at the end of Term 3.The College’s exceptional academic standard was again highlighted, with almost a third of the matric class achieving an aggregate over 75 percent. Anesu Chimusoro earned the coveted Dux of the School for 2023. Anesu was awarded Academic Honours Cum Laude (over 86%), as well as subject trophies for English literature, Accounting, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences. His runner-up, Nthato Sifumba, was also awarded Academic Honours Cum Laude, and subject prizes for business studies, information technology and fur ther studies mathematics. The school’s coveted trophy for Best AllRounder in the 6th Form was awarded to DylanWiggett, who achieved Academic Honours and played 1st team hockey (captain), indoor hockey (vice-captain), cricket and soccer. Dylan was also a prefect and Head of Gillingham House. In addition to Anesu Chimusoro and Nthato Sifumba, Liam Jansen van Rensburg and Fritz Rheeder also achieved over 85% to earn Academic Honours Cum Laude. Academic Honours (80-85%) were awarded to DylanWiggett, Caleb Saks, Lwandile Khoza, Jarred Christie, Sachin Bhagwan, Nala Madlala, LiPuma Mthethwa, Nicholas Butler, Ethan Groom, Oliver Brazier, Sean Diseko,Thomas Hurley, Hayden Bishop, Dominic Hislop, Jacques Nel, Seth Abrahams, Sange Mdunyelwa and Hayden Davel. James Engelbrecht, Ryan Denekamp, Gabriel Delpor t, Otsile Ntsele, Reuel Jagarnath, Kieran Pear ton, Kyle Pottinger, Devahn van der Walt, Jordan Boyd, Ruschay Govender, Kamva Khamaba, Ethan Marnitz and Aidan Albrecht achieved Academic Colours (75-79%). Well done to all the boys and we look forward to a wonderful set of results in the IEB matric examinations. Academic Excellence Above: Grade 12 prize-winners Left: Guest of honour Dr Cardo, Dux Anesu Chimusoro, runner-up Nthato Sifumba and Headmaster, Mr Patrick Lees Prefects 2024 Congratulations to the boys appointed as prefects for 2024.We wish them great success in their leadership roles. HEAD OF SCHOOL: Anele Cele DEPUTY HEAD OF SCHOOL: Matthew Lamplough FINNINGLEY Head of House: Matthew de Oliveira Deputies: Ryan Browning, Matthew Huson, Blake Kruger, Mfundo Mthethwa, Joe Verbaan GILLINGHAM Head of House: Luca Borrageiro Deputies: Gregor Campbell, Elihle Hadebe, Kyle Mackay, Cameron Veenstra, MurrayWeyer HALEY Head of House: Jack O’Donovan Deputies: Qhawe Balfour, Kyle Berry, Bryce Blomquist, Jasper Bruno, Keagan Coetzee, Sethu Magubane, James Peirson PEMBROKE Head of House: Connor McIntyre Deputies: Guy Carpenter, Jackson Horn, Lithabe Shweni, Luhlelo Sibisi, Ryan Smith SHEFFIELD Head of House: Jarred van Staaden Deputies: Yuvaan Arbee, Keegan Gevers, Alwande Mbonambi, Ntsika Shiba Afrikaans Olympiad The ATKV Afrikaans Olympiad is the most prestigious in Namibia and South Africa.The top Afrikaans students in the country test their mettle and compare themselves with the rigorous standards set by the ATKV examiners. It has been a decade since Kearsney last par ticipated in the Olympiad.We decided to par ticipate this year to allow our best Afrikaans students the oppor tunity to measure themselves against the best of the best. Our boys approached the Olympiad with enthusiasm and excitement and used past papers to prepare.The boys achieved well, with Jua vanWyk (Grade 12) achieving 31st place in KZN with 81% in the Senior division. Björn Kruger (Grade 9) did us incredibly proud, obtaining an 82% aggregate and coming 2nd in KZN and 15th overall in South Africa in the Junior division. Afrikaans teacher, Mr Pietersen, with Jua van Wyk (left) and Bjorn Kruger